Dynamic Languages Symposium 2020  OOPSLA/SPLASH 2020

Co-located with SPLASH 2020

In association with ACM SIGPLAN

Chicago, Illinois, USA Everywhere, Nov 18, 2020


Welcome to the the 16th edition of the Dynamic Language Symposium (DLS), co-located with SPLASH 2020 online.

DLS is the premier forum for researchers and practitioners to share research results and experience on all aspects on dynamic languages—by which we mean languages like Clojure, Dart, Elixer, Erlang, JavaScript, Julia, Lisp, Lua, Perl, Python, Ruby, R, Racket, Scheme, Smalltalk, and more. As demonstrated again by this year’s program, the inuence of work in these languages extends beyond the implementation and direct use of dynamic languages.

This year, we received fourteen submissions reporting original research and experience related to the design, implementation, and applications of dynamic languages. Nine of those papers have been accepted to symposium.

As in previous years, reviewing proceeded in two rounds. The rst round followed a lightweight double-blind process, meaning that author identities were not revealed to reviewers until the discussion phase. In the second phase, authors rened their submissions to address reviewer concerns, and we believe that this resulted in better papers and enabled a more complete dissemination of work on dynamic languages

We are very pleased to include in this year’s program a keynote presentation by Vanessa Freudenberg: Croquet: A Unique Collaboration Architecture.

Our sincere thanks go to the Program Committee, the SPLASH organization, the authors, and the DLS community for all of your eorts toward this year’s symposium.

Matthew Flatt
DLS 2020 Program Chair
University of Utah

Tim Felgentreff
DLS 2021 Steering Committee Chair
Oracle Labs Potsdam

ACM SIGPLAN    ACM Digital Library